Five(5) Of My Favorite Dark Green Leafy Vegetables..

Dark green leafy vegetables are high in fiber and are loaded with vitamins and minerals. The darker the vegetable the more nutrients they contain.
Some research even says that the carotenoids in the dark green leafy vegetables prevents certain cancers. They are also great for a healthy heart and help with skin and aging. Which sounds pretty good to me.
You can eat the vegetables raw(uncooked), my favorite way to have them or you can cook it. Sometimes a little olive oil, onion, garlic, some black pepper and mrs Dash in a wok, sautéed is all that’s needed, served and eaten alone. I’ve even sautéed it with baby mushroom and tomatoes and eaten with eggs…DELISH!!

 

 

Romaine Lettuce:
Romaine is properly one of the most common dark green leafy vegetables eaten out there, especially in salads and on sandwiches. They contain vitamins A, C, K, beta-carotene and folate.
Romaine lettuce is good for a healthy heart, it contains potassium which helps with lowering cholesterol, plus its also great for digestion.

 

 

Spinach:
Spinach is low in calories and high in vitamins A, K, B2 and C, plus is also contains iron and calcium. The list is endless.
Having it on pizza is one of my favorite ways to eat spinach along with portabella mushrooms and low fat mozzarella cheese….besides eating it in salads or with my breakfast. Spinach is also a main ingredient when making green smoothies.

 

 

Kale:
It has a slight bitter taste to it but Kale has cancer fighting properties and it’s great for lowering cholesterol. Kale is high in vitamin A, C, potassium, fiber and folic acid.
Some even refer to it as a SuperFood.
It’s great when eaten in salads or sautéed with evoo, onion and garlic.

 

 

Arugula:
Arugula is a small leafy green vegetable that has cancer fighting properties and its packed with vitamins A, C, K and contains iron and calcium as well as potassium. It had a lil spicy taste to it, but nothing over whelming that you can enjoy it. Adding it to salads is one of the ways I mainly eat arugula.

 

 

Broccoli:
Broccoli oh broccoli how do I love you so. Can you tell that I love me some broccoli :-). I eat it on a weekly basis and I enjoy it with a lil evoo, and garlic toss in a wok. I don’t over cook the broccoli, I enjoy it crunchy.
It contains vitamins like A, C, K as well as folate, potassium and calcium and high in fiber.
Broccoli helps with fighting high blood pressure, cholesterol, and osteoporosis. Which sounds perfect to me.

Include dark green leafy vegetables into your daily eating regime. You can have it raw(uncooked)..in sandwiches, salads, even in your smoothies. Cook it and add it to pizzas, eggs, pasta dishes etc…the options are endless and the benefits tremendous.

Enjoy…

Elesha

2 thoughts on “Five(5) Of My Favorite Dark Green Leafy Vegetables..

  1. Awesome I love it and now I know what Kale is and I have been passing it straight all alone in the veggie isle in the super market. :/

Leave a Reply

